Tuesday, 14 December 2010

Another On Body Image

I have just got round to reading Charlotte's last post, and she is (as always) so right. She is a fucking beauty.

Now, I would love to say I have the same confidence in the way I look as she does, but unfortunately I'm the complete opposite. I am 2 or 3 sizes bigger than I would like to be, am covered in the most hideous stretch marks, and my skin (which for most of my teenage years was so perfect) is rebelling against me.

Not a day goes by when I don't notice every single one of my imperfections. But then, 99% of the time when I look in the mirror, I am happy at what I see. Sure, I think "just lose a few pounds", and I don't think I can ever be as happy in my size as Charlotte is. But it does not stop me being a happy, confident person. I rarely, if ever, leave the house without makeup. This does not make me vain; it means that I am human. Everyone will agree that it is nicer to look at things (or people) which are more 'aesthetically pleasing', and I know that if I put on some foundation and mascara, I look better. There is nothing wrong with wanting to look better, and although I do it for other people, I also do it for me - I do not feel ready for the day if I am not made up a bit.

Despite my insecurities, I pretty much love the way I look. When I have made an effort, I can look in the mirror and like what I see. I would love to lose a bit of weight, but it's not the end of the world if I don't. I know that if I was a size 8, I would be too scared to eat in case I got bigger, and I enjoy not having to worry about that. I give my body what it needs; if I eat a bit too much junk food in a short space of time, my body craves fruit and veg, and real food, so that's what I eat. If I fancy a biscuit with my cup of tea, I will have one. Because life is too short to worry about the calorie intake.

No comments:

Post a Comment